Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Kitesurf kites
primekutzz

Mood: Sleep Deprived

[*] posted on 5-22-2007 at 07:56 AM
Kitesurf kites

Is is a common and/or smart thing to do to use kites designed for kite surfing for ATB landboarding? I know they're a "little" on the big side but they have the advantage of coming as a full package with depower bar. Right? Help a confused noob.
j55

[*] posted on 5-22-2007 at 08:33 AM

lol, well i am no expert but it seems that alot of people use them for landboarding, especially peter lynn kites, but im not quite sure if they are kitefurfing or what, i know they have sealed cells but the zip on the back doesnt seem waterproof.
acampbell

Mood: Digging Deserts and Mts.

[*] posted on 5-22-2007 at 08:45 AM

The Peter Lynn Venom II is an example of one of the twinskiin kites j55 referred to and is commonly used as a cross-over kite for land or water. Problem is, as you guessed, is a sizing conundrum. Anyting big enough to haul you out of the water in moderate winds might (dependin go n your riding style) overpower you on land. Snow skiing however is a good application for a larger kite since you can hold down a lot of kite with two edges in snow.

The PL Vortex is an entry level kiteboarding kite but would not do well with a land board or buggy (but can be used on skis).

The Scorpion is designed for land use but can be used on water, however the PL folks tell me it is more difficult to water-relaunch.

Angus Campbell
Coastal Wind Sports
where life is better when it blows!
912-577-3920 new number

Find out about Jekyll Island
Bladerunner

[*] posted on 5-22-2007 at 09:07 AM

I think you are asking about LEI's ( leading edge inflated ) kites.
The newer kites , especially the bow kites work well on land. Old 4 line C kites are a pain to relaunch on land.
The drawback with them for beginners is the potential to pop a bladder when you crash. Better left to those who rarely drop their kites.