Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Shortening bar throw on HQ Apex 3
rectifier

Mood: Shredding

[*] posted on 30-10-2015 at 12:33 PM
Shortening bar throw on HQ Apex 3

Just took what is going to be my wife's 5m Apex 3 for an underpowered static fly at lunch. It seems a nice well-behaved engine but I can barely reach the bar at full depower. I actually can't reach the trim straps or the top hat unless I claw them towards me. Being underpowered I really had to stretch my arms out to get it to fly high... not much fun

I'm not tall but not particularly short either. Her arms are far shorter than mine and as a beginner I sure want her to be able to reach the safety! Is there a way to get all that stuff closer?

Homebuilt: 1m NPW9b, 2.6m NPW21, 7m NPW21 UDS
HQ: 3.2m Crossfire, 5m + 7m Apex 3
6m Ozone Explore v2
cheezycheese
Posting Freak

Mood: Ready for action !!!

[*] posted on 30-10-2015 at 12:56 PM

I have the same issue. Can't wait for someone to chime in here.

US888
PL- Aero v1 11m / Phantom 6/9/12/15/18
Ozone Chrono v2 9m
Liquid Force Elite 6.5m
Flysurfer - Peak 3 4m
PKD - Century 2.5m, Soulfly 3.5m
Ted's Profoil-1m/3.5m
Custom NABX Rev
GT Rapide V/VTT-XR+ Special
B-Roc
Posting Freak

[*] posted on 30-10-2015 at 01:16 PM

Someone posted directions on how to shorten the chicken loop and hopefully they will chime in with the link.

I have long been interested in HQ kites but have never pulled the trigger because of that constant complaint and the fact that I'm not very tall. Simple problem for HQ to have fixed a long time ago and a true shortcoming from this bystander's perspective.

Depower Quiver: 14m Gin Eskimo, 10m Gin Eskimo III, 6m Gin Yeti, 4.5m Gin Yeti (custom bridle and mixer)
Fixed Bridle Quiver: MAC Bego 400, JOJO ET Instinct 2.5 & 5.5, Lil Devil 1.5, Sting 1.2
Rides: Ground Industries
ssayre
Posting Freak

[*] posted on 30-10-2015 at 01:20 PM