Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: 14' Hobie cat
blturner

[*] posted on 29-12-2014 at 03:12 PM
14' Hobie cat

I have decided to get a kite to pull my boat around.
I have a lot of experience with an old 8' flexifoil stacker power kite I got back in the 1990s.
I could use come help deciding on how big a kite to get and if kite surfing training would apply to kite boating.

I am thinking that I should get a small 6 meter or so to start with and an 11 meter or so for best fun in typical 12 mph winds we get here in the Kansas City area.

Longer lines to get the kite up high enough to reach the winds that are not blocked by the hills that always surround the lakes in this region. But I don't know if longer lines would make the kite too sluggish. I am thinking 50 to 75 meters.

I don't really understand how a kite bar can cost $450. Makes me think I am missing something. I have to make something to hook the kite to the boat and that means that I need to understand the de-powering and any other functions of the kite bar.

Total weight of the boat and 2 people should be about 500 lbs

I don't think that a 6 Meter would be able to flip the boat unless the wind was over 20 mph. That should let me and my co-pilot get our act together before things get too risky.

Brian
ssayre
Posting Freak

[*] posted on 29-12-2014 at 03:16 PM

Sounds cool. The advice you seek is over my head but I hope you get some video when get going. Someone more qualified will chime in.
sadsack

[*] posted on 29-12-2014 at 05:29 PM

I also been thinking about a kite boat. I been sailing for over 50 years and I think a kite is a
good way to go. I plan on making me about a 12M2 NPW for a 16 foot john boat I have here.