Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: REVIEW : 2010 Flydoor XL
Kamikuza
Posting Freak

[*] posted on 8-9-2011 at 05:32 PM
REVIEW : 2010 Flydoor XL

My first rideable board was the Airush Square One then I graduated to a 2007 Spleene Door 154x42, which I broke after a short time. Then I got the Flydoor XL from Ricardo ...

I chose the Flydoor XL 170x50 because it was the biggest modern twin-tip I could find and it had a wood core which even fatter riders than I told me was indestructible. They are right :D

The 2010 board has two 5cm fins on the heel-side and none on the toe-side, but has a different outline on the toes to ease toe-side riding.
Board has a wood core which I mentioned and 3D carved tips that extends around the heel- and toe-side edges - thinner than the body and this allow the tips to flex over chop and whatnot, smoothing out the ride ...
The rail itself is that anti-get-broken material (ABS?) all around, maybe 6mm thick top to bottom ... which is the flex part of the board.
There's a little rocker and a bit of concave too IIRC but details like that are best left to the experts. It's not as flat and unforgivingly stiff as my smaller boards though ... blah blah blah techinical stuff pooh boring.

I love the board!
I ride it all the time cos it's just so easy to ride. Yes it's big, yes it's heavier than a small freestyle board but it planes early & easily and edges well. I'm big and fat and throwing it's bulk around isn't all that hard for me.
Set a good edge and it'll carve though most chop like you're on a rail. In flatter water, stand on top of it, keep it flat-ish and push against the fins and you'll improve your upwind angle in light wind conditions.
I've set the pads to the widest foot position and I think that's best for the board length, my height and bulk etc.