Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Q-Powerline?
f0rgiv3n


Avatar


Posts: 1025
Registered: 1-25-2008
Location: Boise, ID
Member Is Offline

Mood: Throw caution to the wind.

[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 10:14 AM
Q-Powerline?


I was reading somewhere that you don't have to sleeve the 600lb qpowerline is this true? if so, how do you "terminate" the ends? What kind of knot do you do or what? i'm thinking about getting qpowerline and making my next set.



Kites:PL Hornet 2.0m, 15m Synergy
Dakine Pyro Harness
Rides: MBS Comp 16 Pro, Sector9 Longboard, Forum Snowboard
And always a helmet
My Kiting Blog
View user's profile View All Posts By User
awindofchange




Posts: 1945
Registered: 3-14-2006
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Member Is Offline

Mood: Awesome - totally awesome

[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 10:49 AM


You are correct, no sleeving needed. Just melt the ends with a lighter and knot as preferred. Usually I use two single overhand knots to tie the loops in but others have used figure 8 knots which is said to be less stress on the lines.

Basically - fold it over and knot, hook up and go! :)

We have Q-Powerline already made up in pre-stretched lengths as well as bulk.




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
f0rgiv3n


Avatar


Posts: 1025
Registered: 1-25-2008
Location: Boise, ID
Member Is Offline

Mood: Throw caution to the wind.

[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 01:56 PM


Thank you, that is what I needed to know!!



Kites:PL Hornet 2.0m, 15m Synergy
Dakine Pyro Harness
Rides: MBS Comp 16 Pro, Sector9 Longboard, Forum Snowboard
And always a helmet
My Kiting Blog
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Houston AirHead


Avatar


Posts: 1165
Registered: 6-10-2009
Location: Houston
Member Is Offline

Mood: Smooth winds

[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 05:18 PM


how is this possible. they claim it doesnt need to be sleeved but why? any photos?



2011 17 Best Taboo
2008 Caution Mayhem 9m
Flysurfer Speed 5 15m
Legend 3
Ace II 8 - for sale rarely used....

View user's profile View All Posts By User
BeamerBob


Avatar


Posts: 8276
Registered: 5-11-2007
Location: Down on the bayou
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 05:38 PM


I have Q powerlines on my Phantom custom made from CWS and they are figure 8 knotted with no sleeve. When I load up the Phantom real hard the kite actually moans, so those lines can take the pressure.



Coastal Wind Sports Team Rider
Landsegler Disc wheels
PTW Hero Buggy - XXtreme ApeXX Buggy US 88 - Libre Hardcore
IvanpahBuggyExpo.com
Youtube link
Bob Muse
HQ Montana X 8m, Montana IX 12m, HQ Ignition LEI 5m,
PL Phantom 12m, 15m, Big Blu 24m+, Synergy 10m, Venom 10m, 13m , Phantom II 12m Vapors 3.8, 5.4, Crosskite Sonic 7m, PKD Combat 10.3m
Uturn Butane 2.5m PKD Buster 3m Genetrix Hydra 7m Ozone Yakuza GT 14m
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
WIllardTheGrey


Avatar


Posts: 897
Registered: 5-26-2008
Location: Florence/Oregon/USA/Earth
Member Is Offline

Mood: Just buggy...

[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 09:29 PM


So can q-power line be spliced? is it a double braid or a 12 strand or something else?



\"Well we are all hurtling around in 3 wheeled, tip over prone, non crash tested vehicles with no brakes that we steer with our feet. Just sayin\'.....\" --heliboy50
View user's profile View All Posts By User
geokite




Posts: 479
Registered: 2-26-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: name is mud...

[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 10:18 PM


Q line cannot be spliced, at least not in the traditional way (using the core of the line). The line is basically unbraided spectra surrounded by a very tightly woven sheath. The sheath allows it to be knotted without sleeving.

Hope that helps.




Steve Bateman
Arcs: P:6,6,9,12m; Syn:8,10,12,15m; V2:8m
PL Monster Buggy, 1994 Flexi buggy (original owner), MBS board
Litewave 137 Spirit, 5' Sweet Potato, SS Drawfcraft 42", Lift foils
View user's profile View All Posts By User
kandrey89


Avatar


Posts: 42
Registered: 9-4-2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-11-2009 at 10:25 PM


Sounds like it's spectra-core, and dacron-sheath.



Andrey
Near Ocean Beach, San Francisco, CA USA

BUILT:
Diamond Kite - 1.5m^2 Infinity (DualLine)
NPW9b - 3.1m^2 Green Monster (QuadLine)

BUILDING NOW: GUAL 1.7m^2 QuadLine -

Want to Build: GUAL 6.5 m^2 (QuadLine)
View user's profile View All Posts By User
acampbell


Avatar


Posts: 3854
Registered: 7-26-2006
Location: High Plains
Member Is Offline

Mood: Way too much wind here

[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 05:39 AM


Spectra core, Spectra Sheath.

The sheath is woven very tightly with the fibers at 90 degree angles to each other so that sand cannot work its way into the fibers and begin abrasion. The core takes all the load and the sheath is just protection. The sheath also helps the line hold its round cross-section shape under load which helps to cut down drag. Standard Dyneema lines will flatten like ribbons under load and vibrate, increasing its effective working diameter (and causes the "singing"). Q-PowerLine will sing, but at a much higher frequency, indicating less drag.

The Q-Powerline Pro has a smaller diameter and less drag for the same strength and less stretch. It does not need to be pre-stretched.

It is also very stiff line, which helps reduce tangles and bow-ties in a luff. In the picture below, the line with the loop tied in it is standing straight up in the vertical, like stiff wire. I only tie figure 8 knots and I hand-whip the loose ends. Figure-eight knots are 80% efficient, compared to overhand knots which are said to be about 50% efficient.

QLineExtComp.jpg - 70kB




Angus Campbell
Coastal Wind Sports
...where life is better when it blows!
Southwest for Winter
912-577-3920 new number

Flying on the beaches of Jekyll Island
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Maven454




Posts: 1837
Registered: 7-2-2009
Location: Northern Virginia (DC)
Member Is Offline

Mood: I has a grumpy.

[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 05:53 AM


Quote:
Originally posted by acampbell
The Q-Powerline Pro has a smaller diameter and less drag for the same strength and less stretch. It does not need to be pre-stretched.


The Pro portion of that statement is important, as regular Q-Powerline should be pre-stretched.




"I gave up on wind speeds... its either crappy, gravy, epic, or stupid... in that order"
--Drewculous

Ozone: Imp III Quattro 1m and 1.5m, Flow 2m, 3m, 4m, and 5m.
NAPKA# US454
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Houston AirHead


Avatar


Posts: 1165
Registered: 6-10-2009
Location: Houston
Member Is Offline

Mood: Smooth winds

[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 08:48 AM


i think if i bought some of these lines i would still send them off to get sleeved and sewn. it would be worth the extra 10 or so bucks



2011 17 Best Taboo
2008 Caution Mayhem 9m
Flysurfer Speed 5 15m
Legend 3
Ace II 8 - for sale rarely used....

View user's profile View All Posts By User
dylanj423




Posts: 1446
Registered: 1-24-2008
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 09:11 AM


Quote:
Originally posted by Houston AirHead
i think if i bought some of these lines i would still send them off to get sleeved and sewn. it would be worth the extra 10 or so bucks


its unecessarry... the outer shell acts as sleeving... i have used these lines... they work great




WHAT I FLY:
Flysurfer Pulse 2 12m, Speed 3 15m Deluxe, Speed 3 21m Deluxe
Flexi Rage 1.8m, Jojo RM 3m, Flexi Blurr 3.5, Flexi Blade 4.0m, Flexi Blade 4.9m, Flexi Blurr 5, Jojo RM 6m

WHAT I RIDE:
Kite Skates, Libre Full Race, GI Conflict 106, OR Mako 130, Spleene Door 159

What I Am In The Market For:
Weatherproof Kite Buggy Bag for Libre, PL or Flexi Small Buggy to Tow With, Flexi Pro Link Handles, Flexi Lines, Flexi Kite Killers
View user's profile View All Posts By User
kandrey89


Avatar


Posts: 42
Registered: 9-4-2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 02:01 PM


What does pre-stretched mean?



Andrey
Near Ocean Beach, San Francisco, CA USA

BUILT:
Diamond Kite - 1.5m^2 Infinity (DualLine)
NPW9b - 3.1m^2 Green Monster (QuadLine)

BUILDING NOW: GUAL 1.7m^2 QuadLine -

Want to Build: GUAL 6.5 m^2 (QuadLine)
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Maven454




Posts: 1837
Registered: 7-2-2009
Location: Northern Virginia (DC)
Member Is Offline

Mood: I has a grumpy.

[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 02:05 PM


Pre-stretching means that you stretch the line before you tie it off to make sure that it's all the same length. Otherwise you'll come back from your first flight and find that all your lines are different lengths.



"I gave up on wind speeds... its either crappy, gravy, epic, or stupid... in that order"
--Drewculous

Ozone: Imp III Quattro 1m and 1.5m, Flow 2m, 3m, 4m, and 5m.
NAPKA# US454
View user's profile View All Posts By User
acampbell


Avatar


Posts: 3854
Registered: 7-26-2006
Location: High Plains
Member Is Offline

Mood: Way too much wind here

[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 03:06 PM


I have a carabiner hanging from an eye bolt in a tree in the back yard. From that spot, I have markers along the edge of the house and the front yard marking 10, 15, 25, 27 and 30 meter lengths. I put a loop in one end of the line with a figure-eight knot and hook it to the carabiner. After marking the length, I wrap the free end around a dowel a few turns. Using my 200 lb body weight, I lean back and give about 7 tugs, after which I feel no more stretch. Then I tie off the last loop. The amount of stretch I get makes up for the small amount of wasted line wrapped around the dowel.



Angus Campbell
Coastal Wind Sports
...where life is better when it blows!
Southwest for Winter
912-577-3920 new number

Flying on the beaches of Jekyll Island
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
clintopher




Posts: 316
Registered: 5-16-2008
Location: Tidewater, VA.
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 03:15 PM


Has anybody ever used a bowline? That's what's used on boats to tie loops...don't know it's efficiency.



Flysurfer Speed 2 15m
Wainman Boss
Wainman Smoke
HQ Rush 250
Flysurfer Flyradical L
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Maven454




Posts: 1837
Registered: 7-2-2009
Location: Northern Virginia (DC)
Member Is Offline

Mood: I has a grumpy.

[*] posted on 9-12-2009 at 03:19 PM


Bowlines tend to work better on thicker materials. They are supposed to be at least as strong as the material that you're tying. The big problem with them is that they can potentially come undone if they are not under a consistent/constant load.



"I gave up on wind speeds... its either crappy, gravy, epic, or stupid... in that order"
--Drewculous

Ozone: Imp III Quattro 1m and 1.5m, Flow 2m, 3m, 4m, and 5m.
NAPKA# US454
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Hosted by: Mad Moose Studio