Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Flysurfer Peak 6m from beginner point of view
robinsonpr

[*] posted on 11-1-2014 at 12:35 PM
Flysurfer Peak 6m from beginner point of view

After much deliberation about my first depower kite to get me into landboarding, I went for a Peak 6m. I'm inland and wind is not clean, and I was advised by many great people on this forum that the Peak handles sketchy conditions well and is quite beginner friendly. I've been flying kites for quite a few years but the power of my PL Arcs have scared me and I recently broke my thumb trying to get to grips with the 15m Synergy static flying.

I wanted something more manageable as I'm just starting to landboard, and the 6m Peak isn't big and scary.

It arrived yesterday and we had a bit of wind today. I went straight out and unpacked it. Build quality seems superb, I've got a few Peter Lynn kites which are good quality and I'm very impressed with my first Flysurfer. It comes literally ready to fly. Bar and lines attached.

The bag is OK as a sack to keep it in, but it's not a high quality rucksack like you get from Peter Lynn or Ozone. No doubt to keep the price down.

It was light wind, about 6 knots, so I unwrapped the kite and it sat there nicely while I unwound the lines from the bar. One of the steering lines was twisted around the power line and I had to disconnect it from the kite and untangle it. No big deal really.

I hooked in and took a deep breath as I prepared to hot launch it straight up through the power zone. I stepped back and gave a gentle tug and up she popped. I pushed the bar forward and it (very gently) flapped it's way to the top of the window without giving me too much pull. No drama at all.