Power Kite Forum

UniQ Quad to replace C-Quad for land boarding?

48K - 18-3-2018 at 05:58 PM

New here, so hello to all. Struggling with the forum a little...anyway...

I've been kiting for about twenty years, but very infrequently in the past 5-6. My favourite kiting is land boarding on the beach, but I don't get much opportunity these days.

I have a pair of ageing Peter Lynn C-quads (3.2 and 6.3 m). Both showing their age and need their leading edge carbon replacing. I am looking into replacing them with something equally engaging/fun to fly. And at a good price since I won't get to use it much.

I came across the Peter Lynn UniQ Quad line. Can anyone advise if these will be similar in performance/handling to the C-quads? I like the idea of being able to pack up small.

The largest size is only 4.5m. It's hard to gauge how that will compare to the 3.2 and 6.3 C-quad in power/wind speed needed.

Any advice or opinions greatly received. Cheers, Matt

abkayak - 18-3-2018 at 08:31 PM

welcome aboard 48K
can't wait to see who has flow both of these and could side by side
i would think just 2 entirely different 1le skins made by the same company...kinda funny
my Cquads are inch for inch my most powerful kites..i would not expect anything close out of the uniq when comparing sizes
the Cq's would also be the last ones id landboard with because they require some extra touch when so much else is going on
so really what do i know:dunno:...but always buy what you want or that itch don't get scratched
then you buy more:thumbup:

utahtami - 18-3-2018 at 09:33 PM

PL UniQ quad was the most disappointing kite I've ever owned.

Windstruck - 19-3-2018 at 03:02 AM

Quote: Originally posted by utahtami  
PL UniQ quad was the most disappointing kite I've ever owned.

I second that emotion. I'd listen to Tami, she's a world record holder! :karate: