Power Kite Forum

A newbie's plan to acheive Kite-Flying wonder

IndestructibleYoungMan - 2-20-2017 at 08:48 PM

Hi all! Preview:

I just got into kite-flying. I've been stalking this forum for a few months now and finally decided to join.

My love for kites started with a Prism Nexus... it was a beautiful day with 15 mph winds and the second I had the kite in the air, I knew I wanted to start power-kiting. The feeling was awesome.

I started researching; videos like this caught my eye. But upon more research, I decided to take y'alls advice and buy a 3.1 FB for my first kite. The first day I launched it like a fool in 30 mph winds before a massive storm. I got yanked like 100 feet and had my first Code Brown. Okay... I'm hooked. (definitely learned A LOT that day)

So that's my story, currently I just static-fly my Prism Tensor 3.1. I want to start ATB this year, and then on to kite-surfing within a few years. But here is my glorious plan to achieve my goals :smug:

Step 1 Buy a used ATB (and any corresponding gear?) for my Prism Tensor. Get some riding under my belt.

Step 2 Purchase a used 12M Peter Lynn Arc. I have heard that these are great de-powers for beginners, as they are cheap, have auto-apex, and apparently eat gusts for breakfast. I also like that they are self-inflating and that maybe one day I could use it for learning to kite-surf :puzzled:. I am thinking 12m because winds here at Florida are pretty steadily 10-15 mph or less. However, as I started researching ARCS I heard that they have spars, and I'm not even sure what those are. I also foundthis article and nearly decided to quit kiting. :o So much info... is this really a good kite for beginners???

Step 3 Get a harness and helmet, start riding/static flying with the Arc. Learn to fly blind.

Step 4 start jumping and having a crap-ton of fun! :D:D:D

Step 5 enter the kite-surfing world which I am sure I will flesh out when get there.