Power Kite Forum

Any big wheel landboards out there?

southpadreburt - 11-25-2015 at 11:44 AM

I'm a buggy pilot that wants to pick up a landboard that will ride on the beach and wind packed sand. I think I am looking for 10 - 12 inch tires that fit hubs that will go on a standard landboard. I have not found much using web searches. What do beach riders use?

wolphy - 11-25-2015 at 12:48 PM

I've seen (and tried) successful riding with 8" wheels on a well packed sand of Atlantic Beach, NY. I had much trouble trying to ride the same board on the softer sand last month at Plumb Beach.

jrhook - 11-25-2015 at 03:23 PM

I'm not an engineer but it seems the physical dynamics, i.e. drag vs. force necessary to move, coupled with the area displaced topside i.e. the rider, it just wouldn't be fun!

It does appear others have tried to create a hybrid that would extend the ride-able surface...

rsz_image_68.jpg - 63kB

bigkid - 11-25-2015 at 03:31 PM

Flexboardz and MBS both have done the 9 inch wheels.
It's hard enough to buggy in soft sand with bigfoots, on a board wouldn't be any fun to me.
Not sure about anyone else but I prefer to reduce the Rolling resistance as much as possible, so that I can worry about having fun than worry about face planting.

PHREERIDER - 11-25-2015 at 04:45 PM

the 9" definitely give more soft terrain range. in general land board riding is considerably more edging than rolling and this is the real issue. so in soft you have to keep the kite high, and a light touch "on top " of the board than ride edge heavy. flexboard (wide axle) has plenty of float over soft and is much better design for "on top" riding.
alot of powdery soft is very difficult in general and step in width and height is the solution, 10"x 4" is about as big as u can go and still have some type of control .

certainly doable . the lighter board touch and efficient high kite control are the piloting elements that bring it together

southpadreburt - 11-26-2015 at 09:53 PM