Power Kite Forum

Help about plywood kiteboard

mikellli - 29-1-2012 at 06:24 AM

Hello everyone.
I'd like to make a plywood kiteboard, but I have few dilemma. My weight is 95kg (210lbs). The first problem is that the kite HQ Neo2 8m, which is how I found out after buying a small for my weight. Now, what size board should be in order to compensate for the smole size of the kite? Otherwise I am an absolute beginner on the water. I would also like to mention that winds are not bad here.

Thanks in advance.

bigkahuna - 29-1-2012 at 06:42 AM

That kite is -way- too small for a plyboard. Try to find a big surfboard 9+ feet in length. But even that will be very challenging for a noob to get started with. For your weight you'd want something like a 12-14m and go out in 15-20 mph winds if you want to use an average sized plyboard.

mikellli - 29-1-2012 at 07:43 AM

It's just disappointing. Could I go kitesurfing with a more serious board such as spleen monster door or Flydoor XL???

:no:

bigkahuna - 29-1-2012 at 08:26 AM

I weigh 240 and I don't pull out my 10m unless it's over 25 mph, so my guess is that you'd need 22+ mph to be properly powered with an 8m. That's pretty strong wind for a noob to learn with. Possible? Maybe but not how I would recommend you start out. Ideal situation is relatively flat water and 15-20 mph for a beginner and for those conditions you'll probably need a 12-15m.

PHREERIDER - 29-1-2012 at 08:53 AM

the wind will be furious to use that kite, won't be newbie friendly indeed, BK.

wide like 42-45cm and some concave on the bottom or it WILL BE too slippery for newbie

length like 145-148cm... AND a bigger kite 14m tube

keep flying what u have and get a water drag and water start lesson.

buy used find what you like THEN you spend $ OR time making one

tridude - 29-1-2012 at 09:05 AM